Bathampton Primary School

Together on a Learning Adventure

Our Governors

Bathampton Primary Governors

We have a strong team of governors who contribute significantly to the school.


There are various types of Governors on our Local Governing Committee (LGC), drawn from different areas of the community, bringing a wealth of experience.


● Parent Governors: elected by parents and carers of children at the school
● Staff Governors: selected by election from teaching and support staff from the school
● Multi Academy Trust-Appointed Governors: appointed by the Bath & Wells MAT, of which we are a part, to represent the wider community or to provide specific skills


In addition we also have Associate Members who kindly contribute their skills and expertise to benefit the school’s development. Associate Members do not have voting rights.


Our LGC has delegated responsibility from the Bath & Wells MAT Trust Board. The BWMAT Scheme of Delegation sets out what decisions the LGC can take and which decisions are taken by the Trust Board. Our Full Governing Committee meets monthly, except August.


To find out more about our Governors and their professional backgrounds, please see the information below.

MAT-Appointed Governors


Cheryl Cook (Chair of Governors)

Cheryl Cook was initially elected as a Parent Governor and became a MAT-Appointed Governor on the school joining the BWMAT.  She has one child who attends the school and two who have moved on from Bathampton to secondary school. She is Chair to the Governing Body.  Cheryl is a qualified management accountant and programme manager and works as a management consultant on large scale change programmes.


Appointed by foundation/Trust from 13/10/2015 until 22/07/2023.


Lin King

Lin King is now retired but she worked in all aspects of IT in both the public and private sectors, most recently as a Project Manager. Her son attended Bathampton School. Lin is currently vice-chair of Bathampton Parish Council, where she looks after Planning and Conservation, and has been its representative on Bathampton Primary School governing board since 2009. 


Appointed by foundation/Trust from 13/10/2015 until 22/07/2023.


Alison Deane

Alison Deane worked as a Systems Analyst and Project Manager before her children were born. Three children have passed through Bathampton Primary School during which time she has helped out in the library, the ICT suite and on school trips; she is also an SMSA at the school.  Alison is our Lead governor for Safeguarding and Pupil Premium.


Appointed by foundation/Trust from 13/10/2015 until 11/07/2023.


Tim Morgan

Tim lives in Bathampton and has two children who attended Bathampton Primary School (and still keep fond memories).  He has recently retired from a career as an educational psychologist and local authority SEND manager, having earlier been a secondary teacher in the UK and abroad.  Tim is, as you might expect, very interested in special educational needs and is the SEND Lead Governor. 


Appointed by foundation/Trust from 01/01/2022 until 01/01/2026.


William Dalby

William lived in East London for 40 years before moving to Bath in 2017. He was a secondary school teacher for 30 of those years, teaching maths to GCSE as well as A-Level Business Studies and Economics. He was also governor at a small primary school in the East End of London for 10 years and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. He enjoys different sports, belonging to local rugby and cricket clubs and has recently taken up bowls. 


Appointed by foundation/Trust from 04/2022 until 04/2026.


Paula Shore

Paula is a Standards and Effectiveness Partner (STEP) for primary schools and has responsibility for EYFS and Early Careers Teachers. Having 27 years of experience in schools, including studying and teaching periods overseas, she has a global perspective of and a continuing passion for education at all phases. Paula has lived in Bath since 1987. Before her role as a STEP, she has worked successfully as a primary headteacher in Nottingham, Devon and London and as a children's centre lead, headteacher and executive headteacher across a range of diverse settings in Bristol. She is a Trustee of the BWMAT. Paula is Lead Governor for EYFS.


Appointed by foundation/Trust from 01/01/2022 until 01/01/2026.


Fiona Powell

Fiona has one child currently at the school and one who has moved on to secondary from Bathampton and has volunteered as Chair of the school’s Safer Routes to School Group since 2016. Fiona currently works for a local start-up where she is responsible for scaling its operations. Prior to this she worked across food retail and management consulting always with a focus on improving customer experience. Having been elected as Parent Governor in September 2019, during Covid she was adopted as a MAT-Appointed governor for the skill mix she brought. She is Vice Chair and is the Lead Governor for Health and Safety.


Appointed by foundation/Trust from 10/09/2020 until 10/09/2024.


Staff Governors


Nicky Lake

The Headteacher is an ex-officio member of the Full Governing Body. Our Acting Head of School, Nicky Lake has been in post since January 2022. 


Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher from 01/01/2022.



Louise Cripps

Louise is an experienced educationalist and former head teacher who joined the Governing Body in 2021.


Appointed by foundation/Trust from 2021 until 2025.


Parent Governors


Matthew Spurway

We are delighted that Matthew Spurway has been elected to the post of parent governor. Matthew has one child currently at the school. He works as a Test Lead on software solutions for the Emergency Services, with over 21 years of experience working with 999 Call Taking and Radio Communication systems. As a Governor, he our Lead Governor for Admissions. 


Elected by parents from 01/09/2021 until 10/09/2025.


Hannah Tebbutt

We are delighted that Hannah Tebbutt has been elected to the post of parent governor. Hannah has one child currently at the school. She is an experienced school governor and we are very pleased that Hannah will use these skills with us at Bathampton. Hannah works at UWE Bristol where she heads up all of the outreach programmes in schools and colleges across the region, which are focused on supporting positive progression through education and developing a love of learning.


Elected by parents from 01/05/2022 until 01/05/2026.


Associate Governors


Daniel Symonds


Clerk to Governors


Our Clerk to Governors is Robert Beesley. He can be contacted with any questions on the Governing Body at:


Pecuniary Interests and Code of Conduct

In September 2021, all governors signed to declare that they had no pecuniary or personal interests. Governors joining in Term 3 also declared that they had no pecuniary or personal interests


Meetings and Attendance

Our next LGC meeting is on Wednesday 13th July 2022.

BWMAT Scheme of Delegation