Bathampton Primary School Logo


Primary School

Ofsted report 2011-2010


School Governors

We have a great team of governors who contribute significantly to the school.

There are various types of Governors on our Local Governing Body (LGB), drawn from different areas of the community, bringing a wealth of experience.

● Parent Governors: Elected by parents and carers of children at the school
● Staff Governors: Selected by election from teaching and support staff from the school
● MAT Appointed Governors: Appointed by the MAT to represent the wider community or to provide specific skills

In addition we also have Associate Members who kindly contribute their skills and expertise to benefit the school’s development. Associate Members do not have voting rights.

Our Local Governing Board has delegated responsibility from the Bath & Wells MAT Trust Board. The BWMAT Scheme of Delegation sets out what decisions the LGB can take and which decisions are taken by the Trust Board.

Our Full Governing Board currently meet five times each year and we also have two committees that meet termly and report back to the Full Governing Body: Resources and Pupils.

To find out more about our Governors and their professional backgrounds, please see the information below


MAT Appointed Governors

Cheryl Cook (Chair of Governors)

Cheryl Cook was initially elected as a parent governor and became a MAT Appointed governor on conversion to the MAT.  She has two children who attend the school. She is Chair to the Governing Body, Chairs the Resources Committee and is also our SEND Lead governor.  Cheryl is a qualified management accountant and programme manager and works as a management consultant on large scale change programmes.

June Wagstaff (Vice Chair)

June Wagstaff has been a governor since 1994 and is currently Vice-Chair. She has served as a parent governor, LA governor and most recently MAT appointed. Her three children all attended Bathampton School and have all recently graduated from University. She has been Chair of the Governors Finance Committee for many years and is now a member of the Resources Committee. She worked for the Department for Education as a Delivery Lead for the Initial Teacher Training division and was formerly a Secondary Science teacher and a member of the Senior Management Team in a large secondary school.

Lin King

Lin King has worked in all aspects of IT in both the public and private sectors, most recently as a Project Manager.  She is currently vice-chair of Bathampton Parish Council, where she looks after Planning and Conservation, and has been its representative on Bathampton Primary School governing board since 2009.  Lin has been Chair of the Personnel Committee for a number of years and is currently a member of the Resources Committee.  She is also our lead governor for Admissions.

Alison Deane

Alison Deane worked as a Systems Analyst and Project Manager before her children were born. Three children have passed through Bathampton Primary School during which time she has helped out in the library, the ICT suite and on school trips; she is also an SMSA at the school.  Alison has chaired the Pupil Support Committee for a number of years and is chair of the Pupil Committee. She is also our Lead governor for Safeguarding and Pupil Premium.

Staff Governors

Thomas Brewer

The Headteacher is an ex-officio member of the Full Governing Body.

Nicola Lake

After a year teaching in another school when she first qualified, Nicola Lake has worked as a class teacher at Bathampton Primary since 1994. She became a teacher-governor in September 2012 and in 2013 she also joined the Curriculum Committee. She was promoted to Deputy Head teacher in September 2013. 

Parent Governors

Karen Wells

Karen was elected as parent governor in 2019. She is Associate Director – Commercial for a global food and drinks consultancy, and has more than 12 years’ experience advising companies across all aspects of business planning and due diligence. Karen also sits on the Quality management group, and has previously worked in the public sector as projects and fundraising manager, liaising with key stakeholders from five separate organisations across the region. Karen has two children at the school and is currently a member of the Pupils Committee.

Fiona Powell

Fiona has two children currently at the school and has volunteered as Chair of the school’s Safer Routes to School Group since 2016. Fiona currently works for a local start-up where she is responsible for scaling its operations. Prior to this she worked across food retail and management consulting always with a focus on improving customer experience. Having been elected as parent governor from September 2019, she is a member of the Resources committee and is the Lead Governor for Health and Safety.

Associate Governors

Daniel Symonds

Hebe Alloun


Clerk to Governors

Our Clerk to Governors is Robert Beesley. He can be contacted with any questions on the Governing Body at:


Governing Body Meeting Dates 20/21 – to be agreed in September 2020

BWMAT Governors Code of Conduct

Governors letter to parents, July 2020